Our wooden hoop: The WOOP

Between September 2015 and February 2016 we spent a lot of time occupying ourselves with wood. It was our intention to create a wooden hoop which takes after a plastic hoop when it comes to its functions. Therefore we tried different types of wood and tested various possibilities of manufacturing. Unfortunately we soon realized that a wooden hoop would never be as flexible as a plastic hoop. But still we’re sure: Once you held a WOOP in your hands, you’ll never want to go back to plastic. The feel of the surface is unique and experiencing flow in the wooden hoop is amazing. You can find more details about the WOOP on hulawoop.at. Be excited about a new hoop feeling!

 

 

Here you can trace the development of our wooden hoop and read up on details about the different wood types that 

Isabella Maria, born 1987

- certified hoopdance teacher

- owner of HoopFlow

- is running HoopFlow's online shop

- part of the "HoopFlow Firedancers"

Isabella

 and Florian had tested:

 

WOOP#1: Beech

To find out whether it is actually possible to build a wooden hoop on our own we simply bought the first wood we

could get at the nearest store for building supplies: 

Beech

- Diameter: 87 cm

- Strength: 18 mm

- Weight: 500 g

beech.

 The way we built it worked better than expected but hooping with the wooden hoop was, as expected, not very pleasant. The hoop was very stiff, heavy and not elastic at all. However we immediately noticed the pleasantly smooth surface of the wood.

 

WOOP#2: Spruce

We stuck to our way of fabrication but we had to find softer material: 

Spruce

- Diameter: 87 cm

- Strength: 11x18 mm

- Weight: 280 g

spruce.

 The hoop was also made thinner and due to that became a lot lighter. Hooping with the hoop was much more pleasant because the wooden hoop was now elastic as well. Just like WOOP#1, this woop was sanded by hand. The process took a lot of time and was very exhausting which is why we were not completely content at the end.

 

WOOP#3: Pine

To improve our way of fabrication we used material with even lower cost: 

Pine

- Diameter: 87 cm

- Strength: 14 mm

- Weight: 240 g

pine.

  We also tried bating parts of the wood to dye it. Unfortunately the solution did not enter into the wood as deep as we had hoped which is why the effect on the colour was almost imperceptible. Still the hoop was great for playing because the elasticity of the material allowed almost all moves easily. After our first phase testing the hoop, however, our assumption that pine changes its form over time was confirmed.

 

WOOP#4: Larch

Due to its beautiful pattern and its positive traits, 

Larch

- Diameter: 87 cm

- Strength: 14 mm

- Weight: 290 g

larch

 also made it for quite a long time in our race towards the WOOP. Unfortunately, it didn’t make it through our extreme tests because it easily splinters due to its beautiful pattern.

 

WOOP#5: Maple

In contrast, 

Maple

- Diameter: 87 cm

- Strength: 14 mm

- Weight: 250 g

maple

 hardly splinters and it is relatively light and elastic as well, which is why we eventually chose this type of wood. Maple is also very popular in archery and is used for example for skateboards. It is elastic und break-proof at the same time and that way makes for the perfect material for our WOOP! To protect the wooden surface the maple hoops are additionally refined with special oil.

So, it took us about half a year to develop our wooden hoop. During this time we not only became more familiar with the natural material but we also learned to love it. Initially we planned on creating only a single WOOP for personal use. We were all the more delighted about so many people being interested in the project and all the feedback. We would have never thought that our experiment with wood would one day become reality in this way. If you also already have experience with hula hoops and want to try out the natural material you can order your own WOOP in our online store.

Unser Holz-Hoop: Der Woop

Von September 2015 bis Februar 2016 haben wir uns viel mit Holz beschäftigt. Unser Ziel war es, einen Holz-Hoop zu kreieren, der von der Funktionalität einem Plastikreifen nahe kommt. Dazu haben wir verschiedene Holzarten getestet und auch in der Fertigung diverse Möglichkeiten ausprobiert. Leider wurde uns schnell bestätigt, dass ein Holz-Hoop nie die Flexibilität eines Plastikreifens besitzen wird. Und trotzdem sind wir uns sicher: Wenn du einmal einen WOOP in Händen gehalten hast, willst du nie mehr zum Plastik zurück. Die Haptik ist einzigartig und der Flow mit dem Holz-Hoop großartig. Mehr Details zum WOOP findest du auf hulawoop.at. Freu dich auf ein neues Hoop-Feeling!

 

 

Die Entwicklung unseres Holz-Hoops und die Details zu den verschiedenen Holzarten, die von 

Isabella Maria, geb. 1987

- zertifizierte Hoopdance-Trainerin

- hoopt seit Juni 2012

- autodidaktische Aneignung der Fertigkeiten

Isabella

 und Florian getestet wurden, haben wir hier für dich dokumentiert:

 

WOOP#1: Buche

Um auszuprobieren ob es überhaupt möglich ist einen Holz-Hoop selber zu bauen, haben wir im Baumarkt das

erstbeste Streifenholz gekauft, das zu bekommen war: 

Buche

- Durchmesser: 87 cm

- Reifenstärke: 18 mm

- Gewicht: 500 g

Buche.

 Unsere Bauart funktionierte besser als gedacht, das Hoopen mit dem Holz-Reifen war aber, wie erwartet, nicht besonders angenehm. Der Hula Hoop war sehr hart, schwer und überhaupt nicht biegsam. Was uns jedoch sofort auffiel war die angenehm weiche Oberfläche des Holzes.

 

WOOP#2: Fichte

Die Fertigungsweise wurde beibehalten, doch ein weicheres Material musste gefunden werden: 

Fichte

- Durchmesser: 87 cm

- Reifenstärke: 11x18 mm

- Gewicht: 280 g

Fichte.

 Der Hula Hoop wurde außerdem dünner und dadurch auch um vieles leichter. Das Hoopen mit dem Reifen war wesentlich angenehmer, da der Holz-Hoop nun auch flexibel war. Der Reifen wurde, wie schon WOOP#1, von Hand geschliffen. Der Vorgang dauerte lange, war sehr mühsam und daher am Ende nicht zufriedenstellend.

 

WOOP#3: Kiefer

Um unsere Fertigungsweise zu verbessern haben wir ein weiters kostengünstiges Material getestet: 

Kiefer

- Durchmesser: 87 cm

- Reifenstärke: 14 mm

- Gewicht: 240 g

Kiefer.

  Außerdem probierten wir die teilweise Färbung der Holzstreifen mit Beize. Leider drang die Beize nicht so tief in das Holz ein wie erhofft, weshalb der Färbungseffekt nur sehr gering war. Der Reifen war trotzdem großartig zu spielen, denn durch die Flexibilität des Materials waren fast alle Moves ohne Probleme möglich. Nach einer ersten Testphase wurde jedoch unsere Annahme bestätigt, dass sich Kiefer mit der Zeit leicht verzieht.

 

WOOP#4: Lärche

Durch ihre schöne Maserung und ihre positiven Eigenschaften war auch die 

Lärche

- Durchmesser: 87 cm

- Reifenstärke: 14 mm

- Gewicht: 290 g

Lärche

 lange im Rennen um den WOOP. Leider hielt sie unserem Extrem-Härtetest nicht stand, da sie, gerade aufgrund der schönen Maserung, leicht splittert.

 

WOOP#5: Ahorn

Weil 

Ahorn

- Durchmesser: 87 cm

- Reifenstärke: 14 mm

- Gewicht: 250 g

Ahorn

 im Gegensatz dazu kaum splittert, das Material außerdem relativ leicht und flexibel ist, haben wir uns schließlich für diese Holzart entschieden. Ahorn ist auch im Bogensport sehr beliebt und wird zum Beispiel für Skateboards verwendet. Es ist biegsam und bruchfest zugleich und somit das ideale Material für unseren WOOP! Um die Holzoberfläche zu schützen werden die Ahorn-Reifen außerdem mit einem speziellen Öl veredelt.

Etwa ein halbes Jahr hat die Entwicklung unseres Holz-Hoops also gedauert. In dieser Zeit durften wir das Naturmaterial nicht nur besser kennen sondern auch lieben lernen. Ursprünglich war die Entwicklung eines einzigen WOOPs für unseren Eigengebrauch geplant. Umso mehr haben wir uns über das große Interesse an dem Projekt und das viele Feedback gefreut. Wir hätten nie gedacht, dass unser Holz-Experiment eines Tages auf diese Weise verwirklicht wird. Wenn auch du bereits etwas Erfahrung mit dem Hula Hoop hast und das Naturmaterial ausprobieren willst, kannst du deinen eigenen WOOP in unserem Online-Shop bestellen.